Call for Award Nominations

Community ,

 The Freeman Award

The Freeman Award is given to a distinguished scholar in the field of social networks for significant contributions to the scientific study of social structure.  The award is designed to be given to a young scholar, someone in the earlier stages of their research career -- someone under 40 years old or someone who has received their PhD within the past 10 years. Consideration is also given to persons who have come to education later in life or who have interrupted their career for any reason (family, health, etc.). A complete description of the award and list of past recipients can be found at

Nominations (including self-nominations) are now being accepted. A nominating letter should briefly summarize the nominee's contributions to the field of social networks. Nominees will be contacted and asked to provide a brief summary of their work and a copy of their CV. The recipient will be announced in June at Sunbelt XXXIV in Montreal, and will deliver the Freeman Lecture at Sunbelt XXXV in Paris (June 1-7).
The 2019 Freeman Award Committee is Kayla de la Haye (chair), Delia Baldassarri, and David Lazer. We thank the committee for their service to INSNA. Nominations and supporting materials should be sent to the chair at All materials must be received by 30 April 2019.


The Best Student Paper Award

The Best Student Paper Award is given annually to a graduate student in recognition of research on social network analysis. The award is supported by royalties donated by the authors of the chapters in Models and Methods in Social Network Analysis edited by P.J. Carrington, J. Scott, and S. Wasserman, published by Cambridge University Press in 2005. INSNA wishes to thank the contributors for their generosity.

The award is for research by a graduate student and is administered by INSNA, the International Network for Social Network Analysis. For the 2019 competition, students should submit a paper (pdf file written in English) to the committee before 15 April 2019. The winner of the award will be announced at the 2019 Sunbelt conference. To be eligible, the student must be a member of INSNA and the first (or sole) author on the paper at the time of submission. The paper may be published or unpublished and must have been completed within two years of the submission deadline. A letter of support from a supervisor, mentor or other faculty member should be submitted as well. The support letter should be aimed at helping the committee understand the significance of the paper.

The monetary prize for the best student paper is $2,500.

This year’s committee is: Pavel Krivitsky (chair), Kerstin Sailer, and Betina Hollstein. We thank the committee for their service to INSNA. Please send all application materials to INSNA Vice President, Laura Koehly, Make sure to put INSNA Student Paper Award in the subject line to ensure your submission is not missed.