Back to Events
Calls for Submission

Call: WiOpt 2022

Friday, April 29, 2022 to Sunday, May 15, 2022

Event Details


WiOpt 2022, The 20th International Symposium on Modeling and
Optimization in Mobile, Ad Hoc, and Wireless Networks

Turin, Italy, September 19-23, 2022

Conference website:


WiOpt 2022 aims to bring together state-of-the-art research
contributions from different fields in networks. It welcomes original
and high-quality submissions related to modeling, performance
evaluation and optimization of networks. The focus includes mobile
networks, social networks, vehicular networks, content-driven
networks, cloud and edge computing systems, Internet of Things, among
others. We encourage both theoretical contributions and real-world
empirical measurements and experimental studies.

Areas of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Modeling, model validation and performance analysis
- Cross-layer design and optimization / control
- Scaling laws and fundamental limits
- Network architectures and protocol design
- Resource allocation and management
- Network economics and pricing
- Game theory for networks
- Quality of service solutions
- Energy efficiency, harvesting, power control and management
- Security, trust and privacy
- Network resilience, anomaly detection and reliability analysis
- Data collection and analytics for networks
- Edge and Fog computing
- Mobile and Cloud computing
- Content distribution networks and wireless caching
- AI/ML techniques for network management and optimization

Outstanding papers will be considered for the  Best Paper Award and
Best Student Paper Award. For the Best Student Paper Award, the first
author of the paper needs to be a full-time student at the time of
paper submission. Both awarded papers and the respective runner-up
papers will be considered for a fast-track submission of an extended
version to IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking and IEEE Transactions
on Network Science and Engineering.

WiOpt 2022 obtained the technical co-sponsorship of the
IEEE Control Systems Society and of the IEEE Information Theory Society,
and the support of IFIP. The copyright of published papers belongs to IFIP,
which implements a free open access policy: authors effectively hold
the copyright of their papers, and IFIP automatically grants authors
permissions to reuse the material as they wish. The published papers
will be available in the Digital Library of IFIP at no cost neither
to authors nor to readers, and will be considered for publication in IEEE Xplore.

======================== Important Dates ===========================

Paper registration: May 15, 2022, 23:59 AoE (firm deadline)  

Paper submission: May 15, 2022, 23:59 AoE (firm deadline)

Notification of acceptance: July 1, 2022, 23:59 AoE

Camera ready and Registration: July 22, 2022, 23:59 AoE

Conference: September 19-23, 2022

======================= Confirmed Keynote Speakers ==================
Three outstanding keynotes have been confirmed.

“Time Sensitive Networking, Network Calculus and Clock Non-idealities”
by Prof. Jean-Yves Le Boudec (EPFL, Switzerland)

“Vehicular Communication Networks - A Stochastic Geometry Viewpoint”
by Prof. François Baccelli (INRIA, France)

Improving sustainability of radio access networks
by Prof. Michela Meo (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)

More info at .

======================== Committees ==============================

General Chairs:
Marco Ajmone Marsan (IMDEA Networks Institute, Spain)
Francesco De Pellegrini (Avignon University, France)
Alessandro Nordio (IEIIT-CNR, Italy)

TPC Chairs: George Iosifidis (Delft Technical University, The
Netherlands) Vincenzo Mancuso (IMDEA Networks Institute, Spain) Weina
Wang (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)

Workshop Chairs: Christian Vitale (KIOS Research Center, Cyprus)
Loutfi Nuaymi (Télécom Bretagne, France)

Publication Chairs: Maurizio Munafò (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
Xiaojun Lin (Purdue University, USA)

Publicity Chairs:
Francesco Restuccia (Northeastern University, USA)
Siyuan Zhou (Hohai University, China)
Christian Quadri (University of Milano, Italy)

EDAS, Web and Virtualization Chairs:
Cise Midoglu (Simula Research Lab, Norway)
Michele Segata (Free University Bolzano, Italy)
Christiana Ioannou (University of Cyprus)

Local Arrangement Chair:
Greta Vallero (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)